Andrea Camilleri – Morte in mare aperto e altre indagini del giovane Montalbano / Death on the Open Sea And Other Investigations of the Young Montalbano

morteinmareapertoRoom number 2, Double Investigation, Death on the Open Sea, The Stolen Ticket, The Transaction, As Practice Required, An Apricot, The Honest Thief: eight investigations by a young, intrepid, impulsive Montalbano. He carries a loaded pistol and is full of resourcefulness, often resorting to tricks to get his man. His relationship with Livia is passionate and intense. The Vigàta police station is inhabited by characters well known to Camilleri’s readers; what is different is Montalbano’s relationships with his associates. His links with Fazio are still hierarchical; Augello is an unashamed womanizer whose insatiable desire for conquests nearly costs Montalbano his life during one investigation; the inspector’s most reliable colleague, on the other hand, is clear-headed and quick-thinking; lastly, a slammed door marks Caterella’s entry onto the stage. The chief inspector in Montelusa is the paternal, tolerant Burlando; he likes the impulsive young inspector and is happy to cover for him on more than one occasion.

The stories are set in the Eighties and reflect the events of those years in Italy, from the Sindona affair to the shooting of John Paul II. Montalbano investigates crimes of many kinds, from property speculation to family disputes; the background noise, however, is that of the mafia.

Andrea Camilleri was born in Porto Empedocle in 1925.

He worked as a theatre, television and radio director and scriptwriter.

He has been a  playwright, an essayist, a professor of theatre studies, and a producer for Italy’s state-owned television network (RAI).

In 1978 he published his first novel, The Way Things Go, and since then he has never stopped writing, publishing more than 90 volumes, including historical novels, crime novels and political essays.

The first story featuring his main character, Inspector Salvo Montalbano, a fictional Sicilian police detective, was published in 1994 under the title “The Shape of Water”.

In the last 21 years he has written 24 Montalbano books, all published by Sellerio, which have reached the top of the bestseller lists in Italy and in Europe.

His books have sold almost 25 million copies in Italy and 15 million copies abroad, and have been translated into more than 32 languages.

Montalbano has become one of the most popular screen heroes in Italian cultural history, and the TV series has been sold and broadcast in 63 countries.

Andrea Camilleri has won numerous prestigious literary awards in Italy and in Europe, including the Premio Pepe Carvalho, the Festival del Noir BC Negra, the Crime Writer’s Association International Dagger, the Premio Internacional de Novela Negra, and the Cité de Paris.


La memoria

320 pages

14 euros

EAN 978 88389 32533